Let’s get back to a different future


I remember the future.  It used to look pretty good.  Lately, not so good.

The problem is things change too quickly.  If we don’t change with change we get sidelined.

If you find something high-tech that you like, you don’t get to enjoy it for long.  Just as you get comfortable, it’s time to upgrade to something else.

My list of complaints could take up a lot of space so I will only deal with a few of these.

Cars.  I don’t see much improvement over the years.  Electric doesn’t work in cold climates, hybrids are cost- justifiable only if you travel a lot. I don’t need a USB plug. So long as it starts and goes, this works for me.

Has there really been any great improvement (other than gas economy) since the 1937 Ford pickup?  It had a low top speed but most of us don’t need to go fast.

Cities.  I hate cities.  For me, the ideal place to live is one where you look out the window and see a cow.  Traffic lights, parking meters?  First one I see in my town, I’ll put up a For Sale sign.

Cameras.  My night job is videography.  I do it for love not money.  My first documentary took one year.  My camera has 122 adjustments, no problem if they up that to 244. More is better.

The BBC, it seems, no longer cares about quality, scripting, or recording and, since much of the broadcasting is live, never mind editing.  The message seems to be you don’t need reporters, cameramen, boom operators or, a “proper” camera. Ordinary citizens who happen to be at the right place at the right time only need to whip out their I-Pads and press Record.

http://www.hdwarrior.co.uk/2014/02/06/the-future-of-bbc-news-just-when-you-thought-it-could-not-get-any-worse/

The television set/camera manufacturers have other ideas.  Your 2K TV apparently is obsolete, you need 4K.  Don’t plan on using your new 4K TV for long, the camera manufacturers have already started pushing 8K.  Never mind the fact that you won’t see much difference unless you have a 100 Inch TV.  Now would be a good time to call your renovator to expand your TV room.

I do love tablets.  I can sit in an easy chair and draft up a blog post using a sponge tip pen.  If I feel up to it I go to my PC and use speech-to-text software to avoid having to type. Moses apparently liked tablets – he took 10 of them.

3D printing should be exciting.  You may one day have a 3D motor.  Too early to say whether one of these will fit in a 1937 Ford pickup. With a 3D motor, if it fails you won’t need to go to the garage.  Just slide in a new motor.

Is the end near?

No, but if we allow ourselves to be pushed around, anything near is likely to be close to its end.

Meanwhile, let’s just continue to pollute the planet to the point where better and better technology will be needed to fix it.

About kwkeirstead@civerex.com

Management consultant and process control engineer (MSc EE) with a focus on bridging the gap between operations and strategy in the areas of critical infrastructure protection, healthcare, connect-the-dots law enforcement investigations, job shop manufacturing and b2b transactions. (C) 2010-2017 Karl Walter Keirstead, P. Eng. All rights reserved. The opinions expressed here are those of the author, and are not connected with Jay-Kell Technologies Inc, Civerex Systems Inc. (Canada), Civerex Systems Inc. (USA) or CvX Productions.
This entry was posted in TECHNOLOGY, Video Production. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

